Air And Sea Routes To The Philippines
Entry Requirements And Visa Extension
Money and Cost
Information and Maps
Getting Around
Food and Drink
Entertainment and Sports
Crime and Safety
Best Destinations
Medical Care and Emergencies
Time Differences
Opening Hours
Blog Sites
Miss International
Miss Philippines
Partner Sites

Regions » Bicol Region

Bicol Region

Area: 17,632 sq. km
Provinces and their capitals:
Camarines Norte: Daet
Camarines Sur: Pili
Albay: Legaspi
Catanduanes: Virac

Cities: Iriga City, Naga City, Legaspi City

Region V is the Bicol Region. It is made up of the provinces in the peninsula at the southeastern tip of Luzon and the two island provinces of Masbate and Catanduanes.

It is bounded by the Pacific Ocean in the east, by the province of Quezon in the northwestern side, and by the Visayan Sea in the south.


Camarines Norte, Sorsogon, and Catanduanes have no dry season as rains fall throughout the year. Camarines Sur has no pronounced dry season but a very distinct rainy season from November to February. The eastern half of Albay has no dry season but a very pronounced rainfall from November to January. The western half has evenly distributed rainfall throughout the year. Rains fall throughout the year in Masbate.

Beautiful Spots

Mayon Volcano, the world's perfect cone, stands majestically from a broad base about 10 km in radius.

The Calabiding Caves in Camalig have an underground stream.

Balubagon Boiling Lake, located south of Legaspi, has steam pressure. It has an outlet near the seashore where erupting geyser can be seen.

The region boasts of clean white sand beaches, underground caves, waterfalls, and natural hot springs.

Template provided by : Levi Bautista for Webpagecoders

© 2010. Philippine Islands. All Rights Reserved.
Best viewed in IE 5.5+ / Mozilla Firefox 0.8+ with screen resolution 1024x768.